An open letter to my fellow Bruce buds

9 Feb

bruce buds

Sunday morning, it is raining, a soft drizzle, a mist blanket hovering, visibility murky. That is the world outside. On the inside nothing could be clearer – the sense of community, of togetherness, of a shared experience that cannot be rivalled. And I am part of it.

It is something that is hard to describe with just the right words in the right places, and maybe it shouldn’t even be attempted. Accept it for all that it was, and remember that for a moment, it was the authority of music that stopped time, that created an invisible but at the same time unbreakable bond. Between the Bruce buds who is a radio presenter and long lost sista’ from Ireland, a doctor from Philadelphia, an oil and gas man from the United Kingdom, a brother from Germany, a burger eating lass from London, an abled-spirited soul from Italy, a throng of other locals and citizens of the world, the list is endless. No names needed, you all know who you are… That’s another thing; you don’t need to know a thing about someone, not even what title or term they answer to, if they belong to this club, that’s all you need to know.

I am reflecting…

A week has passed since Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band mesmerised me and close on a 100 000 people for the first time on South African soil, and I’m suffering from the Bruce blues, badly. Does it mean he changed my life in such a way that I am now ready to shave my head and join a cult? No. But through the magic and mystery of his musical genius he has brought something so, mmm (now I’m struggling to find just the right word…), profoundly intense that it needs to be harnessed and harvested, collected and cultivated. If I have to give it a name and put a label on it, let’s call it being Brucified.

Yes, the man at centre stage and his jolly sidekicks use rhythm and rhyme to take a hold on mind, body and soul and to hang on for dear life, not letting go for nothing. However, it is about so much more than this. Like The Boss himself has said, and I couldn’t agree more: “Treat it like it’s all we have. Then remember, it’s only rock ‘n roll.”

Looking from the outside in, it may indeed seem like a strange, strange world to those who are not privy to this unique life and lingo. One that consists of lists and roll calls, of carefully constructed signs and sun-kissed skin, of much sought after wrist bands and set list lusting. And don’t forget thrown about comments like “Do I have a B tattooed on my forehead?” and “I will have kids when Bruce stops touring”.

But it’s exactly through the ass-kicking and everlasting power of rock ‘n roll that ties are created, the ties that bind. Friendships are formed, for life; experiences are shared, forever; it will be all and nothing, now and always.

The last words should undoubtedly belong to the man responsible for all this. From Bruce Springsteen’s lips to our ears and our hearts, I say thank you, Bruce and the E Street Band, and thank you, Bruce buds…

I don’t even know why, I don’t know why I made this call
Or if any of this matters anymore after all

But the stars are burnin’ bright like some mystery uncovered
I’ll keep movin’ through the dark with you in my heart
My blood brother

2 Responses to “An open letter to my fellow Bruce buds”

  1. Tim Cabrey February 9, 2014 at 11:25 am #

    Nicely done mate. Thanks for starting my day
    off expressing so well part of the joy we are
    fortunate to share.

    I always tell folks the 3 hours we spend in the dark together
    at night are just a part of the adventure.

    Be good to yourself. Download Tues
    Cape Town and crank it up!

  2. Hannah (Burgers and Bruce) February 11, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    So happy to have shared the pit with you in South Africa! lots of love and see you again soon Bruce Bud xxx

Leave a Reply

