A lifelong affair

28 Jul

A year ago today I stood under a blue Irish sky. Before me, a stage of possibilities. Behind me, a brother and sisterhood. Within me, a heart of anticipation.

I was in Kilkenny to rekindle a fire. I didn’t know. It was a long absence, 14 years. Would I be able to stoke the ambers once again?

I needn’t have feared.

As they made their way into the open one by one, it started to flicker and glow. Pretty soon it was a raging blaze.

I can remember it as if it was yesterday.

“Good evening, good evening Kilkenny! I want you to raise your voices. I want you to clap your hands. I want you to join us in the celebration of the eternal, everlasting, ass-kicking, unifying power of rock and roll! Alright, here we go… This little light of mine…”

  1. rollingstone.co.za/opinion/item/2726-fans-like-us-baby-we-were-born-to-follow

That night Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band set of a year of the most magical of experiences. My wild-wild ride started in Kilkenny on the Emerald Isle, swept down to Cape Town at the southern tip of Africa, up to Johannesburg, all the way across the Atlantic to US soil and Atlanta, Sunrise and Tampa.

It’s been a roller coaster of delight with Bruce buds and E Street fans, old and new, you all know who you are. The queuing, the lists, the roll-calls, the thirst, the hunger, the sun, the rain, the heat, the cold, the blistered feet, the lack of sleep, the running, the standing, the sitting, the waiting. And then you do it again, and again, and again… I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

It may only be rock and roll, but it sure feels like love. This is a lifelong affair.

Where words fail, pictures speak…

28 July 2013: Kilkenny

springsteen_kilkenny_28 july 2013

 

26 January 2014: Cape Town

 

 

bruce_26 jan 2014 (42)

 

28 January 2014: Cape Town

bruce_28 january 2014_liryn de jager (16)

 

29 January 2014: Cape Town

bruce springstreen_29 january 2014_liryn de jager (10)

 

1 February 2014: Johannesburg

bruce springsteen_1 feb 2014_liryn de jager  (4)

 

26 April 2014: Atlanta

springsteen_atlanta_26 april 2014 (18)

 

29 April 2014: Sunrise

springsteen_sunrise_29 april (11)

 

1 May 2014: Tampa

springsteen_tampa_1 may (26)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

