My notebook

2 Sep

 

??????????????????????????????? With an uninterrupted view of the Atlantic  Ocean, I ordered a glass of chardonnay  and a plate of grilled calamari. The sun  was shining; it was a crystal clear spring  day.

I took out my notebook and camera, laid  it beside the glass. I took a savoring sip,  picked up the camera, snapped a few  frames, opened the notebook.

The calamari arrived. I pushed the  notebook aside, squeezed fresh lemon  over the cubes, added some ground  pepper. I looked up; taking in my  surroundings, life was good.

One scoop of chocolate-mocha gelato hit the sweet spot.

A brief interruption as two ladies leaving paused at my table. Touching my shoulder, the one asked:

“Are you a writer?”

“Well yes, mam, I am.”

“I thought so,” she said, “have a nice day.” They left.

What was it? Was it the black notebook and the camera? Was it the gazing at the water, followed by scribble-scratch-scribble? What was it?

You believe it for the briefest of moments. Then you don’t. You know it’s a long shot. That’s where the magic happens.

 

©LIRYN DE JAGER

Leave a Reply

